Striking a Balance

8 Dec

Life, in all aspects, is all about striking a balance (perfect or not) that aids in creating a happy life comprised of many elements. One important factor that affects each and every one of us on a daily basis is nutrition. It has been said that you are what you eat, and while I don’t want to be a glazed donut, I am a strong believer that when people make these great declarations of diets containing “no carbs” “no sugar” “no fat”, they are only hindering their future relationship with food. Not only is this sort of diet NO WAY TO LIVE, but it is very difficult to maintain forever. In short, I don’t believe in restrictions. I think in order to have a balanced life and a balanced diet, one must incorporate all types of food (yes, this includes some guilty pleasures!) into their nutritional plan.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m starving, I’m certainly not at my best. I feel tired, moody, and worst of all, my brain isn’t as sharp. I find that when I let myself become famished, I tend to make illogical decisions, and this is especially true of food! When you’re that hungry, a bag of salty chips might take the edge off initially, but you’ll regret that choice shortly after when you find yourself digging in the pantry again looking for another snack. To avoid this, I like to graze and eat small portions throughout the day.

Being prepared is also a way to stop making irrational food choices. I usually carry around a bag of almonds or an apple (with a wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese…yum!)  if I know I’m going to be gone for several hours. Though the number of “on-the go” healthy food choices are becoming more prevalent to satisfy busy lifestyles, it’s always a good idea to pack a snack just in case.

One of my favorite ways to start the day is with oatmeal & fruit. I love the mixture of the filling oatmeal topped with the natural sugars in blueberries, raspberries, and bananas. This breakfast keeps me full and satisfied throughout the morning. Another one of my favorites, Magical Breakfast Cream, comes from  The French Women Don’t Get Fat Cookbook by Mireille Guiliano.

MAGICAL BREAKFAST CREAM

4 to 6 tbsp Greek yogurt (1/2 cup), add 1 tsp flaxseed oil and mix well. Add 1 to 2 tbsp lemon juice and mix well. Add 1 tsp honey and mix. Grind 2 tbsp finely ground cereal (w zero sugar) and 2 tsp almonds. Add to yogurt mixture and serve immediately.

Substitutions:
Flaxseed oil–sesame or safflower
Lemon juice–grapefruit, orange, blood orange juice
Honey–maple syrup
Shredded wheat–buckwheat, barley, oatmeal

By eating a delicious and healthy breakfast, you set the nutritional tone for the day and jump-start your metabolism. What’s your favorite breakfast?

3 Responses to “Striking a Balance”

  1. kristy December 9, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    i love the book french women don’t get fat! but i had completely forgotten about that recipe, thank you for reminding me.

    can i just tell you how close this topic is to my heart? striking my own balance with nutrition has been a very difficult battle for me. i grew up cultivating a very unhealthy relationship with food. when i became overweight, i had no idea what to do and turned to diets and have experienced first hand exactly what you’re talking about. diets are no way to live. they also don’t teach you how to have a healthy relationship with food or how to fix your mentality. you just follow the rules someone else has laid out, and you’re not actually getting to know your body at all.

    reading french women don’t get fat was my first step towards repairing my broken mentality. it was the first thing that made sense. when i moved to italy it became easier to see what i was doing wrong and what the healthy way to live actually was. not only did i lose weight and repair my mentality, i feel healthier and happier than ever before.

    great post! i thoroughly enjoyed it and hope many more people who might be struggling with these kinds of things find it and read it as well.

    Vogue Gone Rogue
    Full Time Fabulous – Kristy
    twitter: @kristyelena

  2. Meghan@travelwinedine January 2, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    This is very timely for me. I hate breakfast because I am rarely hungry for a couple of hours after waking up. But lately, I have been dehydrated too and starting my day with coffee which equaled several scary, jittery spells where I felt like I could seriously faint. So my new plan is to eat a yogurt with cereal and a bit glass of water when I get up. I am hoping it helps to avoid the awful feeling that comes when I wait too long. . .
    This looks like a delicious breakfast, and I happen to have all of the ingredients!

  3. Liz Marie January 3, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    Hey hun! I just got your comment about my post on my coffee table, thank you so much for your kind words :) I am glad you found my blog. I just subscribed to your blog as well.. Hope you had a lovely weekend! xx Liz Marie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

