It’s a Journey…

3 Jan

2010 was a monumental year. I graduated from college with Business and Spanish degrees, had major and completely unexpected surgery (anyone else missing a gallbladder?), and moved to New York City…all in a few short months. To say I grew as a person in this past year is an understatement. My priorities changed as did my mailing address and the comforts of all things familiar suddenly felt far far away.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I’m a planner who clings to lists and routines to dictate my life. Though I do still believe the saying “if you fail to plan you plan to fail” applies to some circumstances, I’ve realized that it definitely doesn’t need to rule my life. Half the fun in life is the unexpected. The people you meet, the spontaneous activities, and the new adventures that unfold when your path changes course are usually the ones that end up being your greatest rewards.

One of my favorite 2010 memories was meeting Sharontina and wandering around Lincoln Center during Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week.

 

This is an exciting and difficult and thrilling and sometimes heart-wrenching but always worthwhile journey, not a destination. 2011 is a year where I’m going to make a conscious effort to live in the moment more and better myself each and every day.

What do you hope the New Year has in store for you? Did you make any resolutions?

8 Responses to “It’s a Journey…”

  1. Robin January 4, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Love your blog! As far as resolutions go, I’m hoping to exercise more, find work that I’m passionate about, not just a job that I go to daily, and live the life that I’ve always wanted.

  2. glamfabulouscity January 4, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Thanks =) I always try to make exercise a bigger part of my life. Even if I’m dragging my feet to the gym, I feel 100% better after a good workout!

  3. Elizabeth January 4, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    I loved your blog! You sound like you’ve been on quite the journey this past year! Some good, some bad (sorry to hear about your gallbladder!!), and everything in between.

    I have chose to stay far away from resolutions this year, I feel it sets me up for disappointments. I have however decided to be more spontaneous (if that’s even possible) and say yes more than no. Ready to see what the new year brings!!

    Good luck with your journey! Keep us posted :)

    • kristy January 4, 2011 at 3:11 am #

      elizabeth i don’t make new year’s resolutions either! love it!! =)

    • glamfabulouscity January 5, 2011 at 12:36 am #

      Being more spontaneous is something I’m trying to do too. It certainly makes life more fun ;)

  4. G Baby January 4, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Mi amor! My resolutions are to become a better sioux chef, find a few new uniforms, and WYB and JC daily! Love you babe :)

  5. kristy January 4, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    i love this post! it rings true with my entire life philosophy. you are such an eloquent and intelligent girl. i’m so glad we’ve connected.

    i agree with you that planning is important, but i’ve always been a bit of a “hey let’s wing it” type of person when it comes to many things. not things that REQUIRE planning, and i totally love making to-do lists. but there’s a sweetness to spontaneity that is just so wonderful. and sometimes when i’m feeling bogged down by my to-do list i try to just exist spontaneously and i realized that the errands and jobs and things that i do on the fly always go by faster and make me feel so much less stressed out when they haven’t been written down on a list fretted over. does that make sense? i hope so… but its pretty late here in milan. =P

    anyway, once again, your blog has totally inspired me! thanks darling!!

    Kristy Elena – Full Time Fabulous Contest Blog
    Vogue Gone Rogue

    • glamfabulouscity January 5, 2011 at 12:47 am #

      Thank you so much!! & I’m very glad we connected as well :)

      I agree completely with your “hey let’s wing it” philosophy. I feel like that is sort of along the lines of being a ‘doer’ rather than simply talking about it. I would like a heavier dose of spontaneity in 2011. And on that note, I think I’ll fly to NY tomorrow!

      …Ok, ok I confess: I already had my flight booked. But they didn’t build Rome in a day, right? :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

